Child pages
  • JayTerm Travel Courses

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 26 Next »

Menu

Scholarship Opportunity: Apply for the Edward & Barbara Greb Travel Fund .

 

2018-19 Travel Courses

  


CourseInstructor(s)Instructor's EmailCourse DescriptionCourse Location

Eligible students

JANUARY 2019




ART 347: Special Topics - Drawing in ParisDr. John Lambertson / Patrick Schmidtjlambertson@washjeff.edu / pschmidt@washjeff.edu
France
BIO 224: Tropical Ecology and Conservation in Costa RicaDr. Jamie Marchjmarch@washjeff.edu
Costa Rica
EDU 350: Teaching the Diverse Learner - Study Abroad in Costa RicaDr. James Longojlongo@washjeff.edu
Costa Rica

GWS 292: On Display: Cultures of Paris and Amsterdam

Dr. Danielle Ficcodficco@washjeff.edu
France & The Netherlands
MUS 216: Czech Nationalism in PragueKyle Simpsonksimpson@washjeff.edu
Czech Republic
LAN 288: Cultural Imaginations: Germany & SpainDr. Christy Shaughnessy / Dr. Michael Shaughnessycshaughnessy@washjeff.edu / mshaughnessy@washjeff.edu
Germany & Spain
PHY 164: STEM in Germany: The V-2 Rocket – Origins and Technology Behind Today's Ballistic MissilesDr. William Sheers / Cathy Altmeyerwsheers@washjeff.edu / caltmeyer@washjeff.edu
Germany
SOC 147: Engaging the Sonoran BorderDr. Jason Kilgorejkilgore@washjeff.edu
Arizona






MAY 2019




ENG 129: Prague, its Literature, and its PastDr. Jennifer Harding / Dr. Dana Shillerjharding@washjeff.edu / dshiller@washjeff.edu


Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors Only

ENG 225: Literary London

Michael Lewismlewis@washjeff.edu


LAN 287: Georgia on My MindDr. Michael Shaughnessymshaughnessy@washjeff.edu


PSY: 247 Greece: The Olive Branch and the SeaDr. Cathy Petchelcpetchel@washjeff.edu


SPN 235/335: Discovering PeruDr. Amparo Alpanesaalpanes@washjeff.edu

This two-credit Jay Term travel course will take students to the coast, to Lima, the country’s capital to discover the traces of the Spanish occupation, the struggle for independence and the rise of the Peruvian identity. The travel course will then offer students the opportunity to experience Cuzco, the Rome of the Americas, to be introduced to the production of cocoa and alpaca wool. From Cuzco to the Inca Empire’s sacred city of Machu Picchu in the Andes, where we will see firsthand the cultural relevance of the Incas. Finally the students will be able to interact with the rich flora and fauna of the Amazon, in Iquitos, where the Amazon Rubber Boom will be put into perspective.









AUGUST 2019






COM 250: Journey to the Edinburgh Fringe FestivalDr. Karin Mareshkmaresh@washjeff.edu








For more details and to sign up, contact the instructor(s) leading the course.

This list is updated as necessary, changes are possible.